Quick Facts










Contact Details

Newcastle Legacy

Unit 1, 205-207 Maitland Road, Mayfield NSW 2304

Postal address: PO Box 467, Mayfield NSW 2304

Phone: (02) 4968 9501

Email: newleg@

Contact Groups

About us

About us - Newcastle Legacy

Club history

Newcastle Legacy was founded in 1932. Initial office holders were Canon B.C.Wilson MC BA (President) with N.M.Morris as Secretary.

Following several earlier meetings the inaugural meeting of Newcastle Legacy was held on the 7th December 1932 at the United Service Club.

Ten members of our sponsoring club, Sydney Legacy, were in attendance.
By the end of the Presidential Year there were 74 members.

Our area of responsibility includes Newcastle, Port Stephens, Singleton,Muswellbrook, Merriwa, Scone, Tea Gardens, Morisset, Putty,and Murrurundi.

We have some 2,000 widows, 10 dependant children, and 16 special needs Dependants.

There are some 10 Widows Clubs / Torchbearer Groups.

A total of 146 Legatees, assisted by our four office staff, attend to the welfare needs of Newcastle Legacy dependants.

Board of Management

President / Chairman
Lorraine O'Connor
Vice President / Vice Chairman
Lindsay G Allen
Immediate Past President
Garry Gent
Hon. Secretary
Deb Cox
Hon. Treasurer
Keith Meikle
Welfare Committee Representative
Keith Meikle
Personnel Committee Representative
David Winkelmann
Pension Committee Representative
Garry Gent
Country Group's Represetatives
Fred Turner and Doug Jacka

Additional Club Office Bearers

Sergeant at Arms
David Winkelmann
Attendance Officer
David Winkelmann

Administration and Welfare

Lorraine Carney
Welfare/Field officers
Pamela Kaufmann (Newcastle)
Marion Hangan (Newcastle)
Tracy Fay (Port Stephens)

Front Office
Deborah Bilbao(Newcastle)

Community Relations Officer & Fundraising
Deborah Bilbao

Legacy Bus Driver ----- Roger Clark


Make a donation to Legacy

donate now

Share This Page: